From the Mouths of Babes!

You know, I’ve been considering writing a book on the words that come from my kids’ lips.  I even went as far as to record conversations on the trips to and from my son’s school because I wanted to get the wording perfect…. and it’s all I could do to keep my eyes tear-free enough to drive while stifling my laughter!

This morning, while getting dressed, I spun around with my bra upside down and backwards to fasten the clasp beneath my breasts.  My four-year-old daughter watched in silence as she made mental notes, probably for when she’ll get to participate in the ritual.  “Mom,” she scrunched up her little nose, “why do women have to wear bras?”  I used the analogy of a seatbelt in the car; if not prepared, someone could get hurt.  I’m not sure she understood, but when she gets old enough to wear one, she will!

What about now?  She has me walk her to the restroom to open the door, because of what may be behind it, and drops her pants.  “Where are your underwear?” I blurt out.  Again, with the twisted face… “I forgot!”  How in the world does someone forget their underwear?  I mean unless you’re where you shouldn’t be and need to exit fast!

My daughter is also concerned with the environment, although it isn’t in the same way you or I would be.  She doesn’t want to kill insects because they “might have someone at home waiting for them.”  After finding one dead insect, she spent what seemed forever trying to locate his house so she could return his carcass.  Apparently, there was some sort of bug burial lined up I hadn’t heard about.

And the arguments my two kids get into–the argument over who thought up the rhyming words “fountain and mountain.”  Who cares?  In the car, every time the rhyming game begins, so does the argument.  Surely, there’s another game we can play in the car.  Any ideas?

About Michelle J Brewer

Free-spirited and unwilling to let life throw a curve she can't handle Michelle hasn't done it all, but what she does do she lands on her feet with her hands in the air. Currently a writer of screenplays, she knows the only true way to benefit in her life is by sharing valuable information. Helping others grow to better their own lives, and loving it at the same time, gives her a sense of accomplishment. This blog will discuss what she is working on and how it's progressing. When you want to know more about MJ Brewer, you can check out her blog at http://2ndChanceatHeaven.com to get the inside scoop! Have fun and please volunteer your feedback!
This entry was posted in A Day in the Life, Humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

