“That Woman Must Be Supporting –What Is That Again?”

Okay, the “posting for a cause’s awareness”—what is that?  Sure, I can understand that psychologically a person thinks more about a subject when it directly relates to them.  In addition, I understand that something intimate typically arouses a man’s interest, such as placing on Facebook what color of bra you’re wearing, but not being specific of what it pertains to.  Bra questions regarding Breast Cancer Awareness makes sense to me and simply inquiring of a color, rather than a size, doesn’t appear crass! Curiosity makes people aware!

But ladies, first of all copying someone else’s idea is so unoriginal, especially when you’re using the same “cause” to bring your point across.  Will using it to draw attention to yourself by attempting to arouse a man’s curiosity with sexual innuendos cause you to appear sensible or  ridiculously childish?  The silly “grabs” I receive on Facebook start from categorizing myself as an alcoholic drink, depending on my marital status.  When I occasionally drink, I do it tastefully; usually a smooth Cabernet Sauvignon.  I certainly don’t want to put next to my Facebook profile the word “tequila,” which is what divorced  women are supposed to put.  Personally, most people would consider tequila to someone hanging out at the bar, getting drunk and dancing with anyone who caught them before they hit the floor, panties included or not!

The second one is a fruit basket of goodies, in referring to yourself as a fruit!  At least it is not really embarrassing, naming myself after a fruit, which I do somehow relate to!  😛  Perhaps this is mysterious, but men don’t care if we call ourselves berries or not, so what commotion will this bring by stating I’m single and a blueberry?  Sexually, the only fruit men care about is watermelons and cantaloupe,  but how does this relate to breast cancer?  I mean,  breast cancer survivors being “supported” by bras?  It’s a stretch, but not as much of a reach as other demeaning references.  In regards to breasts, I can’t remember ever receiving a “blueberry” comment!

Today, another invitation to “let the word get out about breast cancer” by taking three lists of words and giving myself a “new name” to post on Facebook.  My new alias is a creation of using the second and third letters of my name to determine which creative title I will now hold, perhaps to be plastered on a T-shirt supporting breast cancer.  I can see it now, “ Starry Glitter-Thighs.”  When people asked me (if they even talk to me) what it is in reference to, I can explain its in support of finding a cure!  They will think I am a nut, and possibly ask if the cure is for mental illness or some other deficiency.

So here I go with my support, Starry Glitter-Thighs with tequila in one hand and a bowl of blueberries in the other!  Don’t  get me wrong, I am all for discovering a cure for cancer—especially breast cancer.  Anything that I can truly do to support this cause, aside from running the streets naked with whipped cream all over my body, or pasting my face next to silliness to permanently engrave on other’s minds, I will do!

Is there a way to support a cause without making an ass of yourself?  I believe there is, but I don’t think these will gain many participation points or conjure up any useful conversations.

About Michelle J Brewer

Free-spirited and unwilling to let life throw a curve she can't handle Michelle hasn't done it all, but what she does do she lands on her feet with her hands in the air. Currently a writer of screenplays, she knows the only true way to benefit in her life is by sharing valuable information. Helping others grow to better their own lives, and loving it at the same time, gives her a sense of accomplishment. This blog will discuss what she is working on and how it's progressing. When you want to know more about MJ Brewer, you can check out her blog at http://2ndChanceatHeaven.com to get the inside scoop! Have fun and please volunteer your feedback!
This entry was posted in A Day in the Life, Humor, The Public, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “That Woman Must Be Supporting –What Is That Again?”

  1. JD McD says:

    I agree to a degree but Facebook is generally not very cerebral. Lots of youth. I guess is they are at least “thinking” about a cure that is a step in the right direction. Why don’t we see if someone can come up with an awareness ploy that is thought provoking? Not extreme but related. Any ideas out there?

Leave a Reply

