Are you living on spaghetti or lemonade?

Lemon-Aid Research June 10-12

Everyday the news is about another neighbor moving out and losing their home.  I suppose a questionable economy is sort of like advancing from one grade to another at school; even though the neighborhood values stay the same, the people don’t.

Being injured increases the “learning potential.”  Social Security is not as willing to submit your name if there are jobs available for people to work.  I’m considered quite healthy to work in a cigarette factory, catching cigarettes and putting them into a box, so I was denied (seriously).  There are 4,000 jobs of this category nationwide, none in my state, and this isn’t necessarily “open” jobs… just total positions.  I was denied.  What did I learn?

I learned from “the Secret” and from my church.  I know that when situations happen, they happen for a reason.  Sure, I need to continue with the courtroom and unfortunately the same judge.  The judge who wants me and my two kids to move out of his jurisdiction and support ourselves on minimum wage in another state.  Well, there’s good news and bad news!

The bad news is that we’re out of money.  Our total income per month is quite a bit under $1,000.  The good news?  The good news is a reflection of bad news for someone else, which is unfortunate albeit not something I have control over; our lease was up at the end of April.  My landlords are going through financial hardships, like everyone else, and are forced to foreclose on their property.  This means it’s up for sale.  They’ve asked me to stay (they believe my furniture makes it appear as a “model home”) until they get a buyer.  The agent said that will be at least a couple of months.  Thank you God, for the time.

My prayers are that during that “couple of months” the waters part and something I’m working towards will come to fruition. The amazing thing is–I believe they will!  Until then, I’ve found a way to literally live on under $50/week on groceries.  It isn’t easy, but my kids love spaghetti every night.  We use different sauces, and sometimes I add hamburger or sausage, but mostly we eat it plain.  It makes our “meat nights” special.

I hope you’ll stay tuned, though.  As I said, I believe in my church and in “the Secret.”  We’ll be moving soon…  I’ll find a way to earn money… We’ll leave the state that so desperately wants us out.  We’ll be free.

Just a sidenote… instead of letting your mind wander to how we’re doing (because you probably don’t even know me) wonder about how your neighbors are doing.  Do they have milk?  Are the parents going without in order to provide for their children?  Are there even two parents in the home to share the load?  Are their utilities on, or do they take cold showers?

This is the time to think about your neighbors.  We need to stand up as a community and care about each other!  Sometimes helping someone else is the best way to help yourself, instead of being desperate or selfish.

One of the things we are doing is from June 10 – 11, we will have a lemonade stand called “Lemon-Aid Research” at Harmon’s in Draper.   The cause is to assist children in cancer research because they too, are having financial difficulties.  If coming up to buy lemonade is too taxing, we are happily accepting donations of paper cups and lemonade mix, so feel free to contribute these things, OR come and have a cup!  Our goal is more than $1000!  (If everyone reading this post now donated .25, we could have that before then!)

Lemon-Aid Research  You’ll be saving lives!

See, no matter how dire a situation is… I can reasonably plan on having my children live at home with me, attending lessons and playing outside.  Life is great–so “God Bless the Children!”  And God bless you!  Please, be in a state of gratitude and realize that sometimes things are not as they appear!

About Michelle J Brewer

Free-spirited and unwilling to let life throw a curve she can't handle Michelle hasn't done it all, but what she does do she lands on her feet with her hands in the air. Currently a writer of screenplays, she knows the only true way to benefit in her life is by sharing valuable information. Helping others grow to better their own lives, and loving it at the same time, gives her a sense of accomplishment. This blog will discuss what she is working on and how it's progressing. When you want to know more about MJ Brewer, you can check out her blog at http://2ndChanceatHeaven.com to get the inside scoop! Have fun and please volunteer your feedback!
This entry was posted in A Day in the Life, Children and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are you living on spaghetti or lemonade?

  1. JeanMcD says:

    I like this post. Remember, folks, “you bring your own weather to the picnic”.

Leave a Reply

