How to work from home on your own terms and still make money! Is that possible?

Anyone who knows me also knows that I’m someone who skips to the beat of my own drum! Okay, figuratively speaking I do!  So I’ve had a lot of adventure in a vast array of disciplines, if you will; preschool teacher to OTR truck driver, exotic dancer to school bus driver.  I’ve found something in all of these areas intriguing enough to experiment and even linger a little at some more than others… but there was always one thing missing–FREEDOM!

Sure, being paid well is nice, but there’s always a trade-off with everything.  One job was fantastic and rewarding, but the pay was less than desirable; another paid great, but required 70 hours a week, coming home stinky and exhausted; the third combined the loving kids and great pay, but very few hours.  Where is the justice?

The harsh reality is this– you can waste your time in search of the perfect job, hoping your name is pulled from the stack of 300 applicants and after three interviews and two months, find out the job you “knew you had” you lost by one vote!  You can even up those odds by committing yourself to attending school full-time to acquire a bachelors degree, which will definitely even up the odds in your favor, and work part time to get there, or you can do what people detest doing and pay for a shorter education, drawing out better results!  How do you do this? 

There are a couple of ways to do this.  You can apply at a 6-9 month college for massage therapy where you can lean over hairy backs for four hours a day, hoping to get a great tip and referral, or you can check out Virtual Network Solution.  At VNS you are allowed to create your own schedule, decide if you want to answer phones, chat or email, and the training takes less than two months!  The best part isn’t the money you make though, it’s the money you save, without touching one hairy back!

No, I’m not talking about being so busy you haven’t got time to spend your money!  I’ve been there and done that, and it really is no good!  I’m talking about saving money without even realizing you’re doing it!  Here, let me explain!

Let’s say you work in the valley because that’s where the place is that hired you, okay?  We’ll take a guesstimate of 1/2 drive in the morning and another at night.  That’s about 40 miles a day, giving a very lenient number, which would be 200 miles a week or 800 miles a month.  Now let’s say your car gets 35 miles per gallon, which is a fuel-efficient vehicle, @ $4.00 gal. comes out to be $91.42 per month.  That’s just the fuel!  (If your job is further than 20 minutes away…. whew, YOU figure it out!) 

How often do you go out to eat while you’re at work… you know the story!  I went shopping  determined to save money.  On my shopping trip I was proud of myself!  I purchased lettuce, bread, lunchmeat, mayo and pickles for sandwiches.  I bought a box of individually packaged chips and pretzels at the discount warehouse and I got a reasonable price.  But by the time I left my house and saw the garage door close, I remembered I forgot to pack my lunch!  I did this for several days!  The chips and pretzels were good for watching television, and the sandwiches were good on the days I had run out of money and dragged myself to the refrigerator after I got home from work. 

I had also noticed one day, how much money I had scrounged from the bottom of my purse to purchase my third soda for the day!  Sodas are expensive when you drink two or three a day!  $15 a week or $60 a month on soda?  Plus, the lunches I inevitably ended up buying when I forgot my lunch.  The cheapest penny-pinching lunch was $5!   (That’s $100/month, in case you didn’t want to figure that out.)

So far I’ve been very conservative with the amount of money I’d dared to admit I used to spend on a monthly basis.  But when you add it up, and the occasional candy bar because when you’re getting a soda you see those too, you’ve spent $300 a month!  Wow, wouldn’t that pay for a nice night out with the spouse AND pay the sitter!

Okay, so the brass tacks is this: You bust your butt putting the glam on, sitting tall to get a job that you pay $300/month to work at, so that you post the days you want to take vacation (and hope they’re approved), or you can work the job you want to work, plan your time off a week in advance and be home when junior gets home from school.  (Now you won’t miss his game, either!)

If any of what I’ve just said rings a bell for you, you seriously need to contemplate what I’m telling you and watch the video.  I’m done preaching now… it’s all on you!

Oh, there’s just one more bit of information I forgot to pin to your forehead, now that it’s swarming with data; what about the time, traveling back and forth to work?  It’s almost an entire day–20 hours of driving!  Couldn’t you be doing something better with that time?

Have a great day!  (And if you aren’t too tired after working all day, go for a walk… it’s good for you.)

About Michelle J Brewer

Free-spirited and unwilling to let life throw a curve she can't handle Michelle hasn't done it all, but what she does do she lands on her feet with her hands in the air. Currently a writer of screenplays, she knows the only true way to benefit in her life is by sharing valuable information. Helping others grow to better their own lives, and loving it at the same time, gives her a sense of accomplishment. This blog will discuss what she is working on and how it's progressing. When you want to know more about MJ Brewer, you can check out her blog at http://2ndChanceatHeaven.com to get the inside scoop! Have fun and please volunteer your feedback!
This entry was posted in A Day in the Life, Humor, Michelle J. Brewer's Many Blessings, Virtual Network Solution and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

